The handsomely proportioned classical building was built in 1935 and first occupied by the British Royal Engineers. It was vacated in the early 1990s, after being last occupied by the Commandos of the Singapore Armed Forces. Following a major restoration completed in early 2013, we were commissioned to enhance the restored building for adaptive re-use as an exclusive hotel venue.
We first addressed the issue of the approach to the building by proposing a pavilion on the opposite side of its entrance forecourt, thereby creating a point from which the building can be appreciated. A water feature was also constructed at the base of the building to heighten the experience of entering the building, as well as to provide a proper resolution as to the way the building sat on the ground.
Amongst other improvements made to the building itself and its grounds, we also re-designed the architectural lighting of the building, highlighting its grace and grandeur.